Since 1970, the Conference has been a critical forum for scholars to report the latest findings in Holocaust research—ensuring the valuable lessons of the Holocaust remain relevant for today’s world. Founders Franklin H. Littell z”l and Hubert G. Locke conceived the Conference as an interdisciplinary, international, interfaith, intergenerational gathering.
Special Information:
The Expansive Legacy and Research of Franklin H. Littell is now available at Temple University.
Click here for more information.

   2014 Conference Program

View / Download
this year's conference program in PDF format.

2014 Conference Photos:
  • Dr. Stephen D. Smith (right) with Dr. Marcia Sachs Littell, VP, Annual Scholars’ Conference.
    2014 Eternal Flame Award Recipient, Dr. Stephen D. Smith.
    Dr. Stephen D. Smith, Executive Director, USC Shoah Foundation - The Institute for Visual History and Education (right) with Dr. Marcia Sachs Littell, VP, Annual Scholars’ Conference.
  • Armenian-Group
    A Gathering of Some of the Conference Participants
    Click on image to view the full photo with names and affiliations.
  • Ben
    Henry B. Morgenthau, IV
    Henry B. Morgenthau, IV – Great Grandson of Henry Morgenthau, Sr., who was a lawyer, investor & leader in the Reform Jewish community in New York + US Ambassador to the Ottoman Empire (1913-1916); he resigned due to his opposition of the Armenian Genocide.
  • Hank_Knight_2
    Henry Knight
    Henry Knight, President, Annual Scholars' Conference.
  • Sunday Evening Public Program - "Sexual Abuse of Women in the Holocaust"
    Speakers included: Lois Hecht Oppenheim, AJU; Rochelle Saidel, Remember the Women Institute; Sonja Hedgepeth, Middle Tennessee State University.
  • Panel_on_the_Armenian_Genocide_as_Jihad
    Plenary Speakers include:
    David Patterson, University of Texas, Dallas; Michael Berenbaum, Host Chairman, Annual Scholars' Conference & Professor, AJU & Sigi Ziering Institute; Richard L. Rubenstein, University of Bridgeport. Click on image to view full photo.
  • Renee_Firestone,_James_Moll,_Hank_Knight
    Renee Firestone
    Renee Firestone, Public Speaker & Holocaust Survivor (Auschwitz).
  • Rubina_Peroomian
    Rubina Peroomian, UCLA
    Rubina Peroomian, UCLA, speaks at the conference.

Publication of Conference Papers

With the generous grant from the Claims Conference, a Volume of Selected Papers presented at the 44th Annual Scholars’ Conference will be published shortly.

Contact Information
Please feel free to contact us with any inquiries by e-mail at, or by phone: (610) 667-5437

Join our mailing list

We are in the midst of putting the
final touches on an exciting
45th Annual Scholars’ Conference

Philadelphia, PA
Franklin H. Littell z”l & Hubert G. Locke,
Coming Soon: Dates, Venue, a Preliminary Program and Registration Information

Elie Wiesel Honorary Chair
Franklin H. Littell z”l   Hubert G. Locke Co-Founders
Michael Berenbaum Host Chairman, 2014
Professor, American Jewish University
Director, Sigi Zierling Institute
Henry F. Knight President, Board of Directors
Director, Cohen Center at Keene State College
Marcia Sachs Littell Vice President, Board of Directors
Emeritus Professor, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
Shimon Samuels Executive Board Member
Director for International Relations, Simon Wiesenthal Center – Paris, France
Charles Clarke Executive Board Member
Emeritus Professor, Monroe Community College (Rochester, NY)
Frances Titcombe Conference Coordinator
Sharon Steeley Co-Executive Director
Richard Libowitz Executive Director
Professor, Temple University

Ways to Donate:
General Conference Donation Fund:
Emerging Younger Scholars & Graduate Student Fund: